MLB: LA Dodgers Named 2013 Club Retailer of the Year

The Los Angeles Dodgers are the 2013 Club Retailer of the Year. 

This was made official by Major League Baseball Properties, per a Nov. 14 update from Andrew Simon of The award, which was established in 2005, is given to a team’s commitment to merchandise sales. 

Simon adds the Dodgers “excelled in the areas of sales, vendor and customer feedback, and creative marketing and merchandising efforts” which earned them the nod. 

Howard Smith, MLB senior vice president of licensing, lauded the team’s merchandising and retail efforts.

“The Los Angeles Dodgers’ merchandising and retail department has the support of an incredible front office and loyal fan base, but that does not stop them from working tirelessly to make the retail experience seamless for the fan through creative and innovative development. 

“The Dodgers have made significant strides in increasing sales and brand awareness, and following their successful 2013 season it is clear that the future is bright.” 

Helping matters for the Dodgers is the fact three of their players were in the Top 20 list of most popular jerseys since the 2013 All-Star Break — Yasiel Puig (No. 3), Clayton Kershaw (No. 6) and Hyun-Jin Ryu (No. 17). Legendary New York Yankees closer Mariano Rivera, who retired at the end of the 2013 season, was proclaimed No. 1. The rankings were based on Majestic Athletic sales at the Shop.  

It’s the first time the Dodgers won the Club Retailer of the Year award. 

The teams which previously earned the distinction were the Seattle Mariners (2005), New York Mets (2006), Philadelphia Phillies (2007), Milwaukee Brewers (2008), Cincinnati Reds (2010), Detroit Tigers (2011) and the Yankees (2012).  

This is the second accolade the Dodgers won in a span of two days. On Nov. 13, ace starting pitcher Clayton Kershaw won the National League Cy Young Award in landslide fashion. The 25-year-old garnered 29 of 30 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America to earn the second Cy Young Award of his career. 

About The Author